Facebook will be rolling out its facial recognition setting to everyone, where it will remain turned off for all new users. Users who are not having the settings will be notified and asked if they want to turn it on.
Facebook will be replacing the Tag Suggestions with Face Recognition. Face Recognition will notify you when someone uploads your photo or photo of someone Facebook thinks is you. The feature automatically tags you in it. Not everyone has the feature setting, Facebook will make the setting available for everyone. New users will get the settings while they are turned off. The new feature will help protect your identity on Facebook.
According to Srinivas Narayanan, Facebook’s AI Applied Research Lead said you are not able to use all of Facebook’s lovely features that use your face. Which means the feature lets you know if anyone uploaded a pic but hasn’t tagged you in it.
By default, if you have the setting the face recognition setting will be turned off. You will need to manually turn it on or off, the tag suggestions setting notice will be seen today in News Feed. Photo Review feature which lets you know when you appear in photos even when you are not tagged, as long as the permission to see the post based on the posts privacy setting, will be activated.
Users can manually tag friends but Facebook will not suggest you be tagged if you do not have face recognition turned on. You will not receive a notice if you already are using face recognition setting.
It won’t be easy for users to allow permission to capture their face, especially with Facebook running in trouble with a class-action lawsuit over allegedly illegal storage of biometric data of millions of users without their consent.
If you don’t have Face Recognition setting on your Facebook you will receive a notification about the settings and an option to turn it on if you wish to.
In case you are already using Face Recognition and wish to turn it off, you can go to Settings> Privacy and select “No.”